Home > Uncategorized > Groans too deep for words

Groans too deep for words

Groans too deep with words.

Back when I joined camino house and began a commitment to morning and evening prayer, I felt a nudge from God to pray actively and daily for my family. For truth and reconciliation, for healing, for comfort, for a miracle. Some nights I didn’t feel like praying for them or bothering my friends with the same old prayer request. Sometimes there would be new people at prayer and I didn’t feel like opening a wound.

It’s that time of year again. It’s Christmas – when families gather. I am gathering with some relatives and I am thankful for that. But I yearn for my immediate family. Yearn to be reunited with them. Yearn to wake up on Christmas morning anticipating the stockings and the laughter.

It’s that time of year again where my heart aches.

Tonight at Bible study, I had a clear thought around prayer time. I haven’t been praying for my family lately. Haven’t wanted to. I realized tonight that it is simply to painful right now.

Instead, maybe at this time, I will cling to my Maker as good ol’ Kierkegaard encourages us to do and let him hear my groans.

Groans that are too deep for words.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Esther
    December 13, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Very proud of you Elizabeth. I think you have made the right decision. God;s strength and peace my dear precious friend.

  2. gretchen
    December 14, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Praying for you Elizabeth. I will say a prayer for your family as well.

  3. December 14, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Thanks Esther for your kind words and encouragement.
    Thank you Gretchen for your prayers, and for praying for my family as well. We all need prayer.
    It is great to be part of the family of God and be supported by people near and far through prayer and encouragement.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

