You’re still here

I’ve often said that if you want to get a message to me, add some music and I will hear it. I’m continually blessed when God uses songs to capture me and challenge me, or to simply comfort me.

You see everything/ You see every part/ You see all my light/ and you love my dark/ You dig everything/ of which I’m ashamed/ there is nothing/You can’t relate to/ And You’re still here. – Alanis Morrisette

I am really struck by the line “And you’re still here”. I think about all my dark, all that I am ashamed of, all my pain and all the ways I fall short. And I know that God sees that. I wait for God to abandon me. I have often thought that my actions, my doubts and my fears have been vast enough that God might leave me.

But over and over, I discover that God loves me in the dark and he accepts me when I am ashamed. But more than that. He is here. Still here. Even when I try to drive Him away. He is still here.

Thanks be to a God who remains present even though He sees everything and every part of me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

