courage

Image

Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes it’s the quiet voice at the end of the day that says: “I’ll try again tomorrow.”

I’m often told how courageous I am. I have lived through years of abuse. I broke the silence. I survived the traumatic events of leaving home. I stood up to my Dad in criminal court. I am facing the brokenness in my life.

I don’t feel courageous though. Yes, I am surviving all of this. But thriving? to me thriving takes courage. I know my thoughts, I know my struggles, I know my temptations. I know the amount of strength I have left in me and how much I feel has been zapped out of me, particularly the past couple of weeks. It is taking me everything within me to get through each day.

But maybe courage isn’t necessarily tied to strength. Maybe some days courage will look like a roar, but others, it will look like a quiet whisper.

Maybe courage says “Tomorrow I will try again” when the day ends with “this sucks”

  1. Rascal
    June 8, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    You are courageous my dear. You have inspired me from the day I have met you to be courageous. You are not only courageous but you are encouraging and you show this in many different ways. What you have been through as a child growing up was tough to deal with but you found that inner strength and courageous voice to speak out and that’s what matter the most to heal yourself. Yes some days it will look like a quiet whisper and that’s okay but remember having that roar is what going to get you where you need to go. Just remember it was your courageous encouragement that helped to get through my “favourite activity” Art Therapy:). You may not feel courageous but in my eyes you are courageous and I am pretty sure other people know that you are courageous. Thank you for cheering me on all the way through Art Therapy Group.

  2. Kimberly Callis
    June 19, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

