Home > The Call to Speak out, Uncategorized > Please pray for my friend

Please pray for my friend

Over the past year, I’ve been becoming more and more of a pacifist. But really, I think this this has been a position I have held for a very long time. I remember when 9/11 happened and how devastating it was to watch a replay of those plans going through the towers.

But I remember being devastated as well that the response was war. We kill those who kill us? And in the name of Christ?

I’m reading a book by Anne Lamott right now and she speaks of a sunday school group where one small child asks if the fighters know that there are children in countries of war and he concludes that the must not know because otherwise they wouldn’t kill children.

It’s easy to turn a blind eye. It’s easy to forget that there is a war going on. It doesn’t really effect me personally. It’s easy to forget the many civilians – innocent women and children – who die daily. It’s easy to forget that the soldiers on both sides are someone’s child, someone’s brother or sister, someone’s father or mother.

I just found out that a woman I have known for about a year now who used to serve in the Iraq war but has resisted because she became disillusioned with the reasons for the war. She and her husband and four kids have sought refuge in our country. And in 3 weeks they are being forced to leave. Which will likely result in this woman being reprimanded and likely in jail for her courageous stance against war.

It’s hard to turn a blind eye when it involves someone you care about.

It’s hard to turn a blind eye when you have a wife, a mother, and four beautiful and fun children in mind.

So I will pray. Please pray with me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

