Jesus Wept

It’s 12:30 am and I am still in tears and in shock over the news regarding my friend Kim Rivera. I keep hoping that when I check facebook there will be a glimmer of hope and at each check my hopes are further dashed. I’ve written our Minister of Immigration (again) and submitted a letter to the editor for a big newspaper in my city.

I am searching for answers to something that is just unanswerable. I am looking for reason to understand an irrational decision. I am lost in a wealth of emotions that range from rage to sadness that cannot even find the right words. I am trying to make sense of something that does not make sense.

And so I look to God and question him: how can this be? Surely if God was here, this would not be the way it is?

The story of Lazarus dying came into my head in response to this questioning.

John 11:32 “When Mary reached the place where Jesus was and saw him, she fell at his feet and said, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.”

John 11:33, 35: “When Jesus saw her weeping and the Jews who had come along with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in spirit and troubled. Jesus wept.”

I picture Christ weeping in this moment – being deeply moved and troubled. No simple answers, no platitudes, no legal sanctions. Just tears.

And so, as I and thousands of others weep tonight, may we take comfort in knowing that Christ weeps with us.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

