Home > Uncategorized > My Lord will Keep me sane

My Lord will Keep me sane

I haven’t had much time lately to write. I have a TON of reading for my courses, and I’ve been planning some services and have had a lot going on. I can’t believe we are in mid January and that this is my second week of school. Anyways, this song has been on my mind a lot lately. So I thought I’d share it – come on, come on wind and rain! I know the sun will shine again! until then my Lord will keep me sane.

I wrote this to a friend and mentor recently: Through all these struggles, I find myself reaching out to God more. Sometimes in complete desparation and others in frustration and others still I laugh in delight of knowing he knows me better than I know myself. I don’t know what God is up to in all of this. It’s not a perfect reaching out. But I do know he is good. I don’t know how people cope without God. Mind you, I’ve been reading stuff for school that talks about Christians being called to stuff that leads to suffering (last night reading about Jeremiah)… that’s perplexing to me. but knowing that the God who created the universe loves me inside and out no matter how much I fail and mess up or how lost I feel at times brings a sense of security in the midst of turmoil that I don’t know how people manage without.

Seriously, in the midst of the wind and rain, I know the sun will shine again… but until then, I know the Lord will keep me sane.

Up above my shoulder the ragged rooftops rise
Casting shadows over streets they seem to despise

Come on, come on, wind and rain
I know the sun will shine again
Till then my lady and my Lord will keep me sane

I went down to the dead lake shore to see what I could see
Along the breeze came, away my cap went, my head it was set free

Come on, come on, wind and rain
I know the sun will shine again
Till then my lady and my Lord will keep me sane

And I hear a far away tune come drifting through the gray
It clears a path before my feet, it makes my fingers play

Come on, come on, wind and rain
I know the sun will shine again
Till then my lady and my Lord will keep me sane

Come on, come on, soot and storm
I know the sun will break your arm
Till then my lady and my Lord will keep me warm

– Bruce Cockburn

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

