Home > Uncategorized > Lord, you seized me

Lord, you seized me

Lord, you seized me and I could not resist you.

I ran for a long time, but you followed me.

I took by-paths, but you knew them.

You overtook me. I struggled. You won.

Here I am, Lord, out of breath, no fight left in me,

and I’ve said ‘yes’ almost unwillingly.

When I stood there trembling

like one defeated before his captor

your look of love fell on me.

The die is cast, Lord, I can no longer forget you.

In a moment you seized me,

in a moment you conquered me.

My doubts ere swept away, my fears dispelled.

Nothing matters to me,

neither my comfort, nor even my life.

I desire only you, I want nothing but you.

(written by Michel Quoist, found in the Celtic Daily Prayer meditation for February 2)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

