Home > Uncategorized > April is Child Abuse Prevention Month – Resources

April is Child Abuse Prevention Month – Resources

April is Child Abuse Prevention Month. I’ve been rather busy lately and have not had the chance to really do much advocacy writing. But I have been wanting to update my book list and thought now would be a good time to do it. I’ve read bits and pieces of most of these books, some more than others, and any of my readers are interested in knowing more about a particular book, I’d be happy to elaborate when I find a few spare moments. Some of these books are written for survivors of abuse but all of them are good to draw from if you are walking with an abuse survivor. Some are from a Christian perspective while others are not. I’ve added a few notes where i thought it would be helpful.

Books on Healing from Childhood Sexual Abuse

  • Healing the Incest Wound by Christine A. Courtois (This is a thick book and one that is frequently quoted. It is definitely more on the academic side)
  • The Long Journey Home: Understanding and Ministering to the Sexually Abused edited y Andrew J. Schmutzer (I highly recommend this. I love the title, especially since I did my B.A. Honours thesis on phenomenology of home. I think the title is very apt for the healing journey – long, a journey, and finding ‘home’ It’s quite a comprehensive book of articles by theologians, doctors, nurses, psychologists and others who are involved in caring for victims, offenders and their families)
  • The Sexual Healing Journey: A Guide for Survivors of Sexual Abuse by Wendy Maltz
  • Invisible Girls: The truth about sexual abuse by Patti Feuereisen and Caroline Pincus (this is focusing on helping teen girls recover)
  • Stolen Tomorrows: Understanding and treating women’s childhood sexual abuse by Steven Levenkron and Abby Levenkron
  • The Courage to Heal by Ellen Bass and Laura Davis and the Courage to Heal Workbook by Laura Davis (These were my first books on healing from abuse that I ever bought. I remember vividly going to chapters with it and trying to muster up the courage to make it look like it was really for someone else but I couldn’t and was shy and meek and just dying to get out of there. It’s easy to read and is the best first resource for an abuse victim. I didn’t really use the workbook but the activities are actually quite good in there.)
  • Father-Daughter Incest by Judith Herman (Have glanced at this one only but it’s one of the ones that is always quoted)

Memoirs of Abuse Survivors (I have found memoirs helpful in my journey. I have struggled to find someone who is ahead of me in my journey who shares similar aspects. Turning to books was my way to find someone who understood who was steps ahead of me)

  • Living for Today: From Incest and Molestation to Fearlessness and Forgiveness by Erin Merryn (I was really impacted by Erin’s journey and this is a memoir I would like to return to sometime. It was in reading her story that I decided to ‘go public’ with sharing my journey on my blog and hopefully one day in a published memoir to encourage and help others)
  • No place to cry: The hurt of healing sexual abuse by Doris Van Stone and Erwin W. Lutzer
  • Door of Hope: Recognizing and Resolving the Pains of your past by Jan Frank (I appreciated this author’s honesty about her own journey but also her emphasis on facing the skeletons in our closets in order to find healing. I’m not sure I agree with the steps and order she prescribes, but she does provide helpful insight)

Books on Healing from Abuse (non-specified)

  • Mending the Soul: Understanding and healing abuse by Steven R. Tracy
  • Trauma and Recovery by Judith Herman
  • Childhood: it should not hurt! by Claire R. Reeves (I haven’t read this one)

Books on Healing Generally (I have included both books that get at various issues that many survivors struggle with.)

  • Why do I feel so down when my faith should lift me up? by Grant Mullen (This is a super easy to read book. As someone who struggled for years with deep depression, I found myself often thinking that either if I had enough faith i could be better or that I’m a total failure for not being able to have enough faith. I’ve turned to this book many times)
  • Women who hurt themselves: A book of hope and understanding by Dusty Miller (Many abuse survivors have struggled with cutting, burning, suicide attempts and other ways of hurting themselves. this is a good book to gain some understanding into this)
  • Lying in Weight: the hidden epidemic of eating disorders in adult women by Trisha Gura
  • The Healing Path by Dan Allender (haven’t read this one)
  • Care for the Soul edited by McMinn and Phillips
  • A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis (this book helped me immensely when my grandmother passed away and I was really struggling to understand)
  • I thought We’d never speak again: the road from estrangement to reconciliation by Laura Davis (this is really helpful for anyone who has been estranged from their families)

Books on Legal issues and Abuse

  • Trauma, Trials and Transformation: Guiding Sexual Assault victims through the Legal system and beyond by Judith Daylen et. al.

Books on Theological Issues that are Relevant to Healing

  • Embodying Forgiveness: A Theological Analysis by L. Gregory Jones
  • The root of suffering by Phil C. Zylla
  • Exclusion and Embrace by Miroslav Volf
  • Surprised by Suffering by RC Sproul
  • Seeking Peace by Johann Christoph Arnold
  • Surrender to love by David Benner (excellent!)

I would love to have other books that have been helpful in people’s journeys.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

