Home > Uncategorized > The peace of wild things

The peace of wild things

Image

Last night, I arrived in Victoria, B.C. greeted by my dear friends. When we departed Toronto, there was a calm yet surreal feeling as I left the concrete and busy-ness. I watched out the window – it was a gorgeous ride for most of it. I have always loved clouds and skies and it was magnificent. I read and reflected. My mind was not that far from work – though I had left my brainstorming notebook in my baggage and I did not have internet access for over 5 hours. It was both frustrating and freeing. I watched the hockey game. Now, I’m not a hockey fan – but game 7 was amazing. Kudos to the Bruins coach for some brilliant decisions that resulted in a win. There was something cool about sitting with head phones on and cheering (or groaning) in solidarity with the rest of the people in the airplane.

The real treat though was flying into the sunset to victoria. Wow. Unfortunately I was told to put my camera away as we descended and therefore was not able to capture it’s beauty. But it was breathtaking.

Today, Meagan and the twins and I went to a local farm and pet goats, saw pigs and piglets, and all sorts of animals.

I was struck by the peacocks. What a magnificent creature! The colours were brilliant and bold. Their design spectacular. I took tons of pictures of these birds because I was completely enamoured by them! I was reminded of the passage in Matthew where we are instructed not to worry. Now I know I am mixing up the lilies of the field and the birds of the air, but I don’t think I’m getting the message wrong. I felt God remind me that he has clothed these birds with splendour and majesty, and his love for me will take care of me.

I read this poem by Wendell Berry and it describes how I feel on day 2 of my vacation.

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair for the world grows in me

and I wake in the night at the least sound

in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,

I go and lie down where the wood drake

rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.

I come into the peace of wild things

who do not tax their lives with forethought

of grief. I come into the presence of still water

And I feel above me the day-blind stars

waiting with their light. For a time

I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

