Home > Uncategorized > 26 second break

26 second break

Image

Today was the day that I decided to quit procrastinating.

After 10 months of hanging out with doctors, the conclusion (and thousands of health care dollars later) is that I need to lose weight and de-stress. Yay for nothing too big going on – but couldn’t they have just given me a medication that makes it all better?

Add to that I am pretty sensitive when talking about weight issues. Who isn’t? I may not talk about it, but I notice when I look in the mirror or when a picture is taken of me. I notice every time I go clothing shopping and the brand marks XL and doesn’t fit me. I’m not even super overweight! Add to that my weight gain was pretty much medication induced as I was on something that made me ridiculously hungry and interfered with the metabolic processes of fat burning (and, having come off it, I’ve already lost a bit of weight!).

I’ve come along way. I can now look in the mirror and see beauty as well as extra weight. I think this has come through seeing pictures of my female family members. I can try all I want, I will never be a toothpick. My body simply is not built in that way. Instead of trying to be something I will never be, I have learned to shop for clothing that flatters me instead of buying a size down to serve as motivation (which never worked by the way).

Today, I decided that I am going to run. And so I did. I decided on a manageable route took walking breaks when needed. And almost gave up half way. Especially after a few too many whistling and making comments – dear male persons: I do not believe real men whistle and ogle. You will never score a date with me in doing this – I do not believe in grace in this matter and you will never reach the level of “possibilities” in my mind. It took everything within me not to punch them in the face.

As I was walking and ready to abandon all, a homeless man smiled warmly and said, “You know, you only get a 26 second break. Keep going!”

And so I did. Total: 1.7 kilometers in 21 minutes.

Thank you dear homeless man for encouraging me not to give up. I needed encouragement as I embark on this new venture.

  1. June 28, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    how lovely that a complete stranger offered you encouragement!! in my book that’s validation that you’re on the right path. stay strong and …keep running 🙂

  2. Courtney Weiss
    June 28, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    It’s so tough to get that motivation and keep going! Keep it up!

  3. Barbara Sanjivi
    June 28, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    Way to go Elizabeth. It is definitely not easy but I think you are on the right track. A good friend of mine has lost a lot of weight and she started by walking not even running. You are already a step ahead. She walked every night. I have faith in you.

  4. June 28, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    thanks everyone for the encouragement!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

