Home > Uncategorized > Sacredness in the brokenness

Sacredness in the brokenness

Here is the prayer I read on Friday after I said goodbye to Grandpa, knowing that had been promoted to glory as the Salvation Army says and is with our Lord forevermore. Those few minutes were sacred ones and I am profoundly grateful, as hard as it was, to have the opportunity to say what I longed to say with a hope that Grandpa can hear me now. It was a sacred moment to cry with my whole body in God’s presence, not holding anything back in my tears.  Not many get to see me hurt to the point I cannot stop tears and shaking. But God sees for there is nothing I can hide from him.

I prayed this prayer in that moment, with everything within me. A sacred moment indeed as I felt God hold me and embrace me in my deep pain. Sacredness in the brokenness.

 

O God,

I cannot undo the past,

or make it never have happened!

– neither can you. There are some things

that are not possible even for You

– but not many.

 

I ask You,

humbly,

and from the bottom of my heart:

Please God,

would You write straight with my crooked lines?

Out of the brokenness of my life

will You make something beautiful for You?

 

Teach me to live at peace with You,

to make peace with others

and even with myself.

 

Give me fresh vision. Let me

experience Your love so deeply

that I am free to

face the future with a steady eye,

loved,

and strong in hope.

 

– A Prayer in Brokenness, Celtic Daily Prayer

  1. John Sullivan, B.A., M.Div., M.Th., D.Min.
    September 22, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Elizabeth, do you know the writings of John O’Donohue, the Irish priest and poet? Look him up on the Internet. He has some beautiful prayers about grief and death that I could send you. If you are interested just e-mail me, and I will forward them to you. They are absolutely beautiful, and someday when you are a priest you will want to use them at funerals that you will be asked to conduct. Many blessings to you, I knew about your grandpa from our mutual friend Barbara Sanjivi.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

