Home > Uncategorized > How to be a Christian without being a jerk about it

How to be a Christian without being a jerk about it

This is awesome.

Feet in, Arms out

A few weeks ago, the marvelous Lindy West over at Jezebel wrote an excellent post called, “How to be an Atheist without being a dick about it.” As someone who has been the target of my fair share of dickish Atheists in my life, I really appreciated it. However, the behavior of dickish Atheists pales in comparison with some of the behavior of my Christian brothers and sisters. So, dear people, I give you some recommendations on how to be a Christian without being a jerk and turning everyone off to not only Christians, but to Jesus. (I’m going to try to cut back on the language in the event that some Christians who need to hear this are turned off by the swears. Let’s see how I do.)

1) Stop threatening people with hellfire and damnation. Nobody likes it. It achieves approximately nothing so far as spreading the…

View original post 1,745 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. john sullivan
    September 28, 2013 at 4:44 am

    My sentiments exactly, thanks for sharing that Elizabeth!

  2. john sullivan
    September 30, 2013 at 5:12 am

    It looks like I am being the encourager Elizabeth. My SA officer Dad died on Christmas Day while I was in Seminary, no warning, a sudden heart attack, no goodbyes. As an only child, a part of me was gone. I had already said goodbye to TSA which was the only family I knew. The funeral was in Vancouver, and the church I attended paid my way home. Back at school I just had to work out my grief on my own. I don’t even think I told anyone except one of the Professors for whom I had an essay due. He was very understanding, told me I could hand it anytime I was ready. Vertigo is a great word to describe it, and I know that my grief could not begin to match with saying goodbye to your grandfather. You are in my prayers. How interesting that you found solace in the Gloria! I have discovered that the Holy Spirit can speak through the eloquence of the Book of Common Prayer and the doggerel of some of the choruses we would sing in TSA.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

