Home > Uncategorized > New Year’s Resolutions 2014

New Year’s Resolutions 2014

I haven’t made New Year’s resolutions in a long time (they last the first day or two and then quickly recede into the background of life). However, I have seen a few resolutions that have been inspiring and I realized that this post could speak to what I hope to do in 2014. Maybe I will discover that God had totally different plans. Perhaps though, it will serve as a measuring stick – to give me something to assess where I am in relationships with where I hope to be. Perhaps it will be something I can continuously refer back to in order to keep me moving forward in life. I am aware that these goals don’t follow the much-advocated S.M.A.R.T. goals – this method for goal setting is pretty useful, I think, however, I fear that in setting achievable goals, that I will shoot lower than I want, scraping by to do the bear minimum. This is an effort in growth, not accomplishments.

So here we go.

1. To maintain a rhythm of Daily Morning, Mid-Day, Evening and Compline Prayer

2. To immerse myself daily into Scripture

3. To read a book a week and to jot down a few notes of each to be compiled at the end of the year

4. To write every day – whether this be a blog post, a journal entry or a paper – something to keep the writing juices flowing

5. To pray for our political leaders. This has been inspired by a news article that I read that made me realize that if we do not have an alternative to our current mayor, nothing will change. also, in the face of mockery, I have been realizing that mockery is cheap. Prayer and action are required.

6. To accept whatever comes as if it comes from God. To joyfully give thanks in everything, even those things that I do not like or do not understand.

7. To stay on top of readings for school and assignments.

8. To create to do lists and do what is on the list

9. To exercise regularly. To provide a physical outlet for stress and frustration. To lose weight. To increase health.

10. To be gentle with myself. I am quick to say “It is what it is” in refering to other people’s situations but am never that kind to myself. To say to myself only what I would have the courage to say to a friend.

11. To write notes of appreciation and gratitude

12. To keep a gratitude jar. To write each day something that I am thankful for, stick it in a jar and then read on new year’s eve.

13. To make sure I schedule at least one coffee with a friend each week.

14. Make one new meal a week.

15. To eat breakfast.

16. To keep Sabbath. Even when it’s hard.

17. To go unplugged for 24 hours at least once a month.

18. To keep my place organized so that I am prepared to offer hospitality at the drop of a hat.

19. To save money. To keep a money jar, increasing the amount I put in each week.

20. To buy what I will eat, and to eat what I buy.

21. To support local businesses and coffee shops.

22. To play the piano each day.

23. To snuggle with my beloved cat each day, and to enjoy being loved unconditionally by this creature God has given me to care for.

24. To decrease packaged foods or foods with preservatives or other additives.

25. To increase how many foods I will purchase fair trade.

26. To only buy used clothing and dishes. To replenish the stock at second hand stores with items that I no longer use or don’t fit.

27. To only buy books for school.

28. To stay on top of paper work. To file my taxes on time. To catch up on my taxes. To replace my ID when it needs to. To change my address. To file paper work. Basically to be organized.

29. To drink more water every day.

30. To travel somewhere outside the province.

31. To say no if I can’t do something or don’t want to. To weigh each opportunity with what God is calling me to.

32. To give generously of my time and resources, remembering that to whom much is given, much is expected.

33. To worry less. To trust that God is with me and that He is big enough to take care of the details of my life.

34. To go to some live music every month. The city has lots of free opportunities along with opportunities that are low in cost.

35. To get outside every day, if only for a walk around the block or to the coffee shop.

36. To remember and acknowledge people’s birthdays. On time.

37. To feel fear or anxiety – and to do it anyways. To take risks and to congratulate myself for doing so. To try new things.

38. To regularly learn about the saints.

39. To wash the dishes before bed.

40. To freely give, and to freely accept,  knowing that all good things are God’s to give and receive.

With only a half hour left of the first day of 2014, I already have a strong sense that this list is going to be difficult to accomplish. But again, accomplishment isn’t the goal.

Maybe by this time next year, I’ll be able to read this list and praise God for the wonders and growth he has done in me throughout the year 2014.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

