Home > Uncategorized > Give me only my daily bread

Give me only my daily bread

With moving and setting up home in a new place, I’ve frequently been asked if there is anything I need. I always draw a blank when asked this. One person wanted to buy somethings that I really needed and I think was disappointed that the only answer I could come up with is cutlery. But seriously, dollar store cutlery isn’t all that great (it rusts) and it’s hard to have people over – so this is something that I need. Seemingly perplexed, this person asked me if there was anything else that I need.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. When I had everything provided for me, I could have easily come up with a list of items that I needed. The latest cd, the newest dvd, the newest style. I had no problem turning my wishlist into needs. Somehow the experience of living without so many things has made me redefine what I need.

Really, there is very little that I actually need.

I need shelter, clean air, food, clothing. The recent ice storm showed that I could live without electricity or heat. Albeit, it would be a struggle and a struggle that not everyone in society to could survive. I rely on electricity and assume that I will be warm. But you can live simply and make a go without electricity. Generally, to function in society though, you need electricity, heat, warm water, internet and access to a phone. I can make a  good argument for needing coffee too, though I can go without.

For me, I need to read and write. I need a Bible. I need God. I need love. I need community.

Beyond this – is anything a need? Or do I blur the lines between need and want?

The challenge to me saying that beyond cutlery I don’t really need anything more for my place was that I need to live well and comfortably.

I don’t think I gave a great response to that challenge. Throughout the rest of the day though I have been reminded of a verse that has been my prayer at many times. Today I pray it, trusting that God will give me my daily bread and that that will be enough.

Two things I ask of you, Lord;

do not refuse me before I die:

Keep falsehood and lies far from me

give me neither poverty nor riches

but give me only my daily bread.

Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you

and say, “Who is the Lord?”

Or I may become poor and steal

and so dishonor the name of my God.

– Proverbs 30:7-9

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

