Home > Uncategorized > Robots, Dreams and Networking

Robots, Dreams and Networking

Every once in awhile, I catch a glimpse of how my life has changed or how God has worked a miracle in my heart. Today, I was walking around the annex handing out flyers of some events that I am running in the near future and caught a glimpse.

For most of my adult life, I’ve been shy. I used to be the student who thinks and rehearses a response over and over and then the class moves to the next topic before I gain the courage to speak in class. I used to write out questions to ask people and things that I could talk about before grabbing coffee or making a phone call. Speaking in public was enough to make me sick for days before. And talking to strangers was something simply deemed impossible for someone like me.

Today, I boldly went to speak to parents in the park to invite them to some family events in the park near the church where I’m currently working. I boldly talked to them about the Robot making day and other exciting events. Some people looked at me oddly – I think in major cities such as Toronto, we are so innundated with material and requests that we don’t react friendly to the people handing us flyers. That didn’t stop me  – where a single rejection would have been enough at one point to curb my boldness, today I continued.

And as a result, there are families coming. Families that never would have walked through the doors of the church. Families that would never come because of a poster on a wall. Families that will come because they talked to a person and found out details. What I once could only dream about, I am now doing.

Funny enough, this is the part of my job that I love – meeting people, talking to strangers, putting myself and the program I’m heading up out there. I’m energized and passionate after meeting each family.

God has a way of healing us – and redirecting our paths so that we do the very things we thought we could never do.

  1. john sullivan
    May 24, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    Bravo, Elizabeth!

  2. Barb
    May 24, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    It’s a good feeling when you are able to overcome a problem like this. I know just how much courage that took. I think you even enjoyed it. Hooray. I was a very shy person and still am but God has seen fit to put me in jobs where I have had to speak out in public. You know, once I started doing it, I began to enjoy it. Good for you. Another Praise item.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

