Home > Fun in the Kitchen, Uncategorized > Asparagus and Potato Soup

Asparagus and Potato Soup

Image

I’m so very happy that the spring is here. In fact, I’ve recently heard people complaining about how hot it is. All I can think of is how thankful I am that it is not snowing. A long winter is hard for many people. I find that I get sluggish and more depressed in winter months with the dark, cold, and this winter, the never ending snow. I can’t tell you how many times I would have dreams about waking up to a blizzard.

One of the many things I love about spring and summer is the abundance of fresh produce in its prime. I was at a fruit market near me and asparagus (one of my favourite vegetables!) was on sale for a dollar – so i most definitely had to buy some along with some other ingredients. Today I decided to make an asparagus soup and adapted a recipe from Simply in Season to match what I wanted as well as what was in my kitchen. It is so amazingly good that I needed to share it! Plus – the total cost for a pot of soup was less than $2 as I bought everything on sale!

Asparagus and Potato Soup (an adapted version of the Asparagus Soup in Simply in Season cookbook)

2 bunches of asparagus (chopped into one inch pieces, removing the tough ends)

3 cups of broth

2 large yellow potatoes or about 6 small ones (chopped into bite sized pieces)

1 small onion (diced)

1 full stalk of celery including the leaves (chopped)

salt and pepper (to taste)

Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Sweat celery and onion in olive oil for 10 minutes.
  2. Add potatoes, asparagus and 3 cups of vegetable broth. Bring to a boil. Let simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are soft.
  3. Puree until smooth. add a little salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Serve and enjoy!
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

