Home > Lessons in Serving, Musical Reflections, Theological Reflections > I heard the voice of Jesus say

I heard the voice of Jesus say

Rock from St. Beuno's Church in Wales. Many pilgrims pressed their thumbs on engraved cross and then crossed themselves as they began on this journey

Rock from St. Beuno’s Church in Wales. Many pilgrims pressed their thumbs on engraved cross and then crossed themselves as they began on this journey

Holy Week is one of my favourite times in the church year. There’s nothing like slowing down and walking through the week from waving palms to seder to stripping the altar to the crucifixion to the eery silence and darkness until Easter morning. I have found memories of Anglo-Catholic services rich with meaning and symbolism, putting a nail into a wooden cross, a silent retreat on holy Saturday where I had to contemplate the space inbetween when the resurrection light has not yet pierced the darkness.

This is the first Holy Week though in which I am doing more than passively walking through. Preparing for a neighbourhood egg hunt on Saturday (exciting – but wow, lots to think about!), reflecting on a passage for Good Friday, teaching piano. Oh and I discovered that I need to get a bunch of things done for school including figuring out placements and bursaries.

I was cleaning out the sanctuary with increasing excitement (there’s lots of places to hide eggs!!) and anxiety (there’s a heck of a lot of work to do!) and kneeled before the altar wondering whose crazy idea this was (not mine alone, but I approved the idea!).

In an overwhelmed moment, I turned to God and said, “I can’t do this.”

I left that prayer feeling like maybe that’s the point. To realize ***I*** can’t do it.

Rather than get back to work, I longed to play on the badly out of tune piano in the corner. I closed the sanctuary doors so it was just me and God who could hear what came from these shaking fingers. The hymn book I found was falling apart. After playing a few easter hymns at the beginning, a page fell… and it opened to a celtic song that is one of my very favourites.

I played it.

I heard the voice of Jesus say “Come unto me and rest.”

“Lay down thou weary one, lay down, Thy head upon my breast”

I came to Jesus as I was – So weary, worn and sad

I found in Him a resting place And He has made me glad

So it wasn’t exactly audible in the physical world.

But… Tonight I heard the voice of Jesus say, “Come unto me and Rest. Lay down thou weary one, lay down – thy head upon my breast.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

