Home > Lessons in School, Theological Reflections > Faithful to completion

Faithful to completion

2015-04-20 16.08.20

I have an incredible gift of starting new things with extraordinary enthusiasm. I have many ideas and many interests.

But finishing things is not exactly a gift or passion that comes easily.

The past little while I’ve been under a bit of pressure to finish something that I had started in the fall but has been lingering with mediocre progress – my assignments for a History of Christianity course. I have accepted an internship position that begins May 1 (more details to follow) but in order to do that, I need to have this course out of the way. The internship is something I *really want to do* and therefore is serving as sufficient motivation to get these papers done.

History has never been my strong suit. And chapter summaries on a summary book are unappealing to write. But the truth is – I’ve read the book once, don’t want to read it again and am ready for something new. It’s boring. It’s like pulling teeth. I have an attention span of a gnat as I try to summarize chapters of the early church. I’ve made progress but it feels like I am slogging through this just to get it done and out of my to do list. There are a myriad of things that seem more interesting. Like practicing scales on the guitar or cleaning the bathroom. But time is ticking and procrastination isn’t exactly adding more joy to this project nor is it getting the work done.

So last night I stuck at it – determined to complete four chapter summaries. Today I have a goal still to meet but decided to pull out the art project for this course to shift from academic to creative work. I am creating a children’s story book on the miracles attributed to St. Columba of Iona using plasticine as a medium. I’m not sure why I haven’t been working on this because it is thoroughly enjoyable and very therapeutic to work with my hands. The above picture shows the progress I made on a blank canvas this afternoon – some celtic art will go on top, but getting the background done is significant because it isn’t as interesting.

As I have been spreading plasticine to cover the white canvas, I have been thinking about the verse in Philippians:

For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

I can’t help but think about what it means to finish the good work that He began in m. I’m messy. I hurt people, I hurt God. I do what I do not want to do. I don’t do what I should. I wonder if God ever feels like he is slogging through while moulding me into the person he has called me to be. Is it like pulling teeth to keep me on the straight and narrow? Does God ever want to give up on me like I want to give up on this course?

And yet there are verses like this one that demonstrate God’s faithfulness and persistence to me – and to you.

God’s not done with me. Not even close. And he will be faithful to complete the good work that he started.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

